towns, 59 villages and 30 districts; the latter are chiefly rural municipalities, except for those adjacent to the principal cities of Victoria and Vancouver which are largely urban in character. It should be emphasized, however, that the application of the name 'city' is somewhat different from the commonly accepted meaning, in that several of them have populations of fewer than 1,000 and perhaps one half or more would not normally be incorporated as cities in another province. Municipalities are supervised by the Department of Municipal Affairs.

Yukon and Northwest Territories.—There are two cities, Whitehorse and Dawson, and one unincorporated town, Mayo, in the Yukon Territory and two municipal districts, Yellowknife and Hay River, in the Northwest Territories, all of which provide some municipal services to their local areas. These are not shown in Table 31.

| | | | - | | | | | | | | |
|---|--|-----------------------|------------------------|----------------------------|--|--|-------------------------------------|--|------------------------------|---------------------------------------|--|
| Item | Nfld.3 | P.E.I. | N.S. | N.B. | Que. | Ont. | Man. | Sask. | Alta. | B.C. | Total |
| | OFFICIAL DESIGNATION ¹ | | | | | | | | | | |
| | No. | No. | No. | No. | No. | No. | No. | No. | No. | No. | No. |
| Local municipalities Metropolitan corporations. Cities. Towns. Villages. Rural 10. | 88 47 ⁸ 39 ⁹ | 25 7 17 | 66 39 24 | 1154 21 1 874 | 1,676 15 56 171 334 1,114 | 941 16 30 158 158 594 ¹¹ | 191 17 8 34 37 11112 | 786 11 114 365 296 ¹³ | 305 89 158 4814 | 125 <i>32</i> 4 59 30 | 4,318 <i>3</i> <i>159</i> <i>684</i> <i>1,168</i> 2,304 |
| Quebec and Ontario counties | | | ••• | ••• | 7515 | 38 | ••• | ••• | | | 113 |
| Totals, Incorporated Municipalities | 88 | 25 | 66 | 115 | 1,751 | 979 | 191 | 786 | 305 | 125 | 4,431 |
| | STATISTICAL CLASSIFICATION ² | | | | | | | | | | |
| Municipalities in Metropoli- tan Areas ¹⁶ Urban Rural | No. 2 2 2 | No. | No. 3 2 1 | No. 5 3 2 | No. 116 <i>95</i> <i>21</i> | No. 74 45 29 | No. 17 9 8 | No. | No. 13 8 5 | No. 20 8 12 | No. 250 172 78 |
| Other urban municipalities | 86 | 25 | 40 | 25 | 467 | 302 | 71 | 490 | 249 | 87 | 1,842 |
| Other rural municipalities Semi-urban Other | ••• ••• ••• | | 23 2 3 | 85 85 | 1,093 1,093 | 565 46 ¹⁷ 519 | 103 103 | 296 <i>296</i> | 43 43 | 18 18 | 2,226 46 2,180 |
| Quebec and Ontario counties | | ••• | | ••• | 75 | 38 | | | | | 113 |
| Totals, Incorporated Municipalities | 88 | 25 | 66 | 115 | 1,751 | 979 | 191 | 786 | 305 | 125 | 4,431 |

31.—Official Designation and Statistical Classification of Municipalities, by Province, as at Jan. 1, 1962

¹ Municipalities grouped according to their official nomenclature, which is roughly indicative of size and nature (see footnote 10). ² Municipalities grouped under the classification devised by the Dominion-Provincial Conferences on Municipal Statistics, designed to bring municipalities into comparable groups for statistical presentation. ³ Census 1961 figures. ⁴ Includes 62 local improvement districts and 10 commissions. ⁵ The Montreal Metropolitan Corporation. ⁶ The Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto. ⁷ The Metropolitan Corporation of Greater Winnipeg. ⁸ Designated by the province as towns (39), rural districts (5) and local improvement districts (3); all operate under the same Act. ⁹ Classified by the province as community councils. ¹⁰ Rural municipalities are designated by different names in the different provinces. ¹¹ Includes 20 improvement districts. ¹² Includes 5 units of self-government known as suburban municipalities; excludes the unincorporated local government districts. ¹³ Excludes the 12 unincorporated local improvement districts. ¹⁴ Includes 20 county municipalities; excludes the 49 unincorporated improvement districts and 2 special areas. ¹⁵ Includes the Inter-Urban Corporation of Ile Jésus, formerly Laval County. ¹⁶ Includes municipalities shown wholly or partly in metropolitan areas by the 1961 Census, with subsequent revisions to take care of annexations, etc. Included in urban are the Montreal Metropolitan Corporation, the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto and the Metropolitan Corporation of Greater Winnipeg. ¹⁷ Classified by the province as suburban or semi-urban.